Employers With 1-49 Employees Exempt From Paid Sick Leave Requirement
Michigan has amended its paid sick leave law to generally require Michigan employers with 50 or more employees to provide paid sick leave to many full-time employees beginning in March 2019. Highlights of the law are presented below.
Which Employees are Eligible for Paid Sick Leave?
Generally all private sector employees who work 25 or more hours per week except:
- Administrative, executive, professional, computer, or outside sales employees exempt from overtime pay under federal law;
- Seasonal employees; and
- Variable hour employees.
How Much Paid Sick Leave May an Employee Use?
Up to 40 hours per year.
How Does an Employee Accrue Paid Sick Leave?
Employees generally accrue 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 35 hours worked. Up to 40 hours of paid sick leave can be carried over from year to year.
When Can Employees Begin Accruing and Using Paid Sick Leave?
Beginning in March 2019 (exact date not yet set), or upon commencement of employment, whichever is later. An employee generally may use paid sick leave as it is accrued, but newly hired employees may be required to wait 90 days.
Which Life Events Qualify for Paid Sick Leave?
- Mental or physical illness or injury of an employee or his or family member; or
- If the employee or his or her family member is a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault.